Listen: Marcel Dettmann Remix Of Luke Slater’s ‘Love’ Techno Classic

Marcel Dettmann, Silent Servant and Lucy have also taken on the UK techno classic.

Burial has remixed Luke Slater’s 1997 track “Love.”

The South Londoner’s version is one of eight on Love Remixes, with Marcel Dettmann (who contributes twice), Scuba, Silent Servant, Lucy and Slater himself (as The 7th Plain and Planetary Assault Systems) also featuring. It’s Burial’s first remix since his take on “Deep Summer” by Mønic in 2017.

One of Slater’s most popular tracks, “Love” featured on his second album, Freek Funk. The new EP, which is out via Slater’s Mote-Evolver label, will be available digitally and on vinyl from May 17th. The digital version includes two extra remixes by Marcel Dettmann and Scuba.

Listen to Dettmann’s “Black Gloves Remix.”

Mote-Evolver will release Love Remixes on May 17th, 2019.

Published by ·

Tags: , , , , , , ,

DVS1 Reveals Next Mistress EPs by Anthony Rother

Next up on DVS1’s Mistress Recordings is Anthony Rother with Mistress 12 and Mistress 12.5, out April 19.

Mistress 12 features completely new electro and techno endeavors, including “Technic Electric” which DVS1 included on his Fabric 96 mix. The second 12″ is a re-release of Rother’s Datapunk classic “Back Home” and comes with new vocal-centered interpretations, a never-ending acapella loop, and two club edits by DVS1.

DVS1 connected with Rother after picking “Technic Electric” and then inviting him to do his electro live show on the release night at Fabric. “Once we personally had a chance to connect, the wheels were in motion for him to send over a collection of jams and tracks that he had not shared with anyone,” DVS1 recalls. “After listening, I quickly discovered more tracks that immediately stood out to me, and I knew I had to release this on Mistress.”

Mistress Recordings will release Mistress 12 and Mistress 12.5 on April 19th, 2019

Published by ·

Tags: , , ,

Belgian five-piece Black Flower are back with a new album!

Black Flower‘s musical cross-pollination of African grooves, Ethio-oriental melodies and psychedelic dub remain on ‘Future Flora’, but there is still room for a more Western touch with Romanian and Maloya (Réunion) influences.

Receiving critical acclaim for their second album ‘Artifacts’ (2017), the Belgian quintet are pleased to announce the release of their much-anticipated third album entitled ‘Future Flora’, released 12th April via Sdban Ultra. Black Flower have received radio support from BBC Radio 6 (Gilles Peterson), BBC Radio 3 (Late Junction) and Worldwide FM.

Listen to their most recent track:

Sdban Ultra will release Future Flora on April 12th, 2019

Published by ·

Tags: , , ,

Previously unreleased Outsider Synth Music 1984 – 1989: Dirk Desaever

Some of the greatest New Beat, Industrial/EBM and loner synth music you’ve never heard compiled across two separate vinyl collections from unsung pioneer Dirk Desaever’s amazing archive; painstakingly restored and released for the first time ever by Geneva’s smart Musique Pour La Danse label.

The first LP, Collected 1984-1989 (Long Play) features 16 previously unreleased/unheard cuts (save for one track off a rare 7”), a stunning haul of mid-late ‘80s Belgian music riddled with a uniquely moving, dark, sleazy and brooding character that we can’t get enough of, ranging from beautiful bedsit synth dreams and sex dungeon-ready etudes worthy of Coil B-sides, thru to melancholic EBM and medieval proto-grime/techno.

Opening with the beatless, baroque synth study ‘Orchestra 15’, the set oscillates in and out of the shadows from the wickedly resolving drum patterns to a creepily daft but brilliant ‘Medieval’ set dance sounding like Wiley gone pagan, thru to pulpy midnight synth cues such as ‘Dzjingle 9’ and the drugged-up robot swagger of ‘Ein Spielzeug’ and ‘Orchestra 10’. But, if we’re pushed for favourites, it’s the more romantic/dramatic arrangements that really get us here, namely the beautifully weightless ambient-pop soul of ‘The Same, Same Story’, and when he appears to channel Lewis on ‘And Suddenly’, and no doubt the salty-sweet dance-pop jangle of ‘You Laugh With Every Little Joke’ which ends the set like an expertly picked closing credits theme.

The second LP, Collected 1984-1989 (Extended Play) focusses on the dark, minimalist, and cinematic trax issued under Dirk’s coveted White House White alias. Omitting a couple of obvious classics, the selection includes all three cuts from 1988’s ‘Disdain’ 12” – the Front 242-styled title cut, his cantering ace ‘Oddball Harry’ and the New Beat thriller ‘The House of My Master Holds Many Rooms’ – before digging deep into the treasure trove of his archive with the sci-fi-sampling nugget ‘Wolves & Owls’, before that gurning New Beat flavour comes strong in the sleazy glam of ’St. Moritz, Mallorca and Cannes’ and ‘Put My Fingers’.

Very simply, if you’re into outsider synth music, lo-fi dance trax, the dankest EBM and proto-techno oddities, you will obsess over these two LP’s, for us already up there among the most crucial reissues of the last couple of years, revealing a hitherto unheard depth and breadth to this most elusive producer.

Musique Pour La Danse will release Collected 1984 – 1989 on March 8, 2019

Published by ·

Tags: , , ,

Cortizona Records explores the 1970s Belgian electronic scene in new compilation Noises

Remastered reissue of the ‘Noises’-compilation, originally released on Kamikaze, the very short-lived label started and ended by Marc Moulin in November 1977.

Noises is a rather uncommon collection of songs that ranges from pieces with stunning vocal harmonies of an early Ilona Chale (who later also would be a member of the band Cos) and her brother Eric, an hypnotic chant where Marc Moulin blends a speech of Belgian King Boudewijn I with reel to reel tape techniques to a trance anthem to a spoken poem transformed into an ambient composition.

Featured in Vinyl Factory‘s 10 new reissues to look out for in early 2019.

Cortizona will release Noises on February 15, 2019

Published by ·

Tags: , , ,

New Axis sub label from Jeff Mills

Jeff Mills has launched a new sub-label, Str Mrkd, from his own Axis Records.

The Detroit techno artist will kick off Str Mrkd (pronounced “Star Marked”), named after his 2014 track, with an EP of his own by the same title. The 12-inch feature four truly interstellar techno cuts like only he can muster, which the label describes as “new thinking for a new time.”

Revisit Jeff Mill’s interview & guestmix on NTS Radio.

Str Mrkd is out today 04/01/2019

Published by ·

Tags: , , , ,