Jeff Mills Celebrates 50th Anniversary of the Moon Landing with New Album

Jeff Mills has a new album on the way.

Moon – The Area Of Influence, out July 19th via Axis Records, celebrates the 50th anniversary of the moon landing in 1969. The LP is said to give Mills’ “interpretations of earth’s moon and its profound effects on us and the planet,” using futuristic sci-fi beats and even vocal samples from inside a NASA control room.

Watch a special live set in Washington DC to commemorate the 50th anniversary of the Apollo Moon Landing.

Moon – The Area of Influence released via Axis records.

Published by ·

Tags: , , ,

Techno supergroup LSD launches record label with new double-pack

Luke Slater, Steve Bicknell and Dave Sumner’s next release, Second Process, is out in June.

LSD is launching a record label.

Comprising vital UK techno artists Steve Bicknell and Luke Slater alongside Dave Sumner, LSD’s self-titled imprint launches June 28th with a six-track double-12-inch release called Second Process. It follows on from 2017’s Process EP, the trio’s debut release for Ostgut Ton. The artwork was designed by Heleen Blanken, a Dutch visual artist who has worked with numerous techno acts like Jeff Mills, Peter Van Hoesen and Ben Klock.

Slater has had a typically prolific year so far, announcing a double-EP under his Planetary Assault Systems moniker and a remix EP featuring reworks of his ’90s classic “Love”. Bicknell meanwhile continues to develop his label 6dimensions and recently released an EP on Spanish label Granulart Recordings. Sumner meanwhile is debuting a new live A/V show at Berlin Atonal in August.

Listen to “Process 7”.

LSD will release Second Process on June 28th, 2019.

Published by ·

Tags: , , , , ,

Coil album of unreleased tracks incoming on Musique Pour La Danse

Musique Pour La Danse is proud to present Coil‘s unreleased soundtrack for the VHS only, pre-internet, sexual education documentary entitled “The Gay Man’s Guide To Safer Sex” released in 1992. Members for this project are John Balance, Peter “Sleazy” Christopherson and Danny Hyde.

The OST, to quote John Balance’s interview for Compulsion Online, “is [a] slightly new agey, progressive house type thing“.

Taken from the original masters provided by Danny Hyde, “The Gay Man’s Guide To Safer Sex” features a new sexy edit of the main theme. Bonuses “Nasa-Arab” and “Omlagus Garfungiloops” are taken from the 1992 CD only “Stolen And Contaminated Songs”, both being original versions of the radically reworked (for the OST) “Nasa-Arab 2” and “Exploding Frogs” in order to balance the whole album and extend the listening pleasure.


A1. Alternative Theme From Gay Man’s Guide To Safer Sex (End Version)

A2. Exploding Frogs

A3. Nasa Arab 2

B1. Nasa Arab

B2. Omlagus Garfungiloops

B3. Theme From The Gay Man’s Guide To Safer Sex

Musique Pour La Danse will release The Gay Man’s Guide To Safer Sex on June 28th, 2019

Published by ·

Tags: , ,

Unreleased Azymuth demos from ’73-’75 compiled in new double vinyl collection.

Samba jazz funk recordings from the start of their career.

Early demos by Brazilian group Azymuth are being released for the first time, in a new 2xLP compilation by Far Out Recordings this May.

Demos (1973​-​75) Volumes 1&2 collects 16-tracks by the group, with Jose Roberto Bertrami on keyboards, Ivan ‘Mamão’ Conti on drums, Alex Malheiros on bass and Ariovaldo Contesini on percussion. Recorded at Bertrami’s home studio in the Laranjeiras district of Rio de Janeiro, the music has been remastered from the original tapes.

Listen to ‘Juntos Mais uma Vez’

Far Out Recordings will release Azymuth Demos (1973-75) on May 31st, 2019

Published by ·

Tags: , , , , ,

Golden Hands s/t album released on vinyl for the first time

Sdban records are very proud to release for the first time ever on vinyl Golden Hands’ only album released in 1978 on cassette by Moroccan label Disques Gam including the cult classic ‘Take Me Back’!

During the seventies, the Kingdom of Morocco was not spared by the rock and funk wave that went through the world. From Casablanca to Tanger, from Marrakesh to Rabat, nightclubs and other concert halls have seen a good number of small groups, more or less amateur and definitely DIY, some of which have been catapulted onto the international stage like Golden Hands. Founded in 1969 by two brothers and a friend, this cult band brought their rock and funk topped with a Moroccan sauce to Europe after having experienced success in their homeland. Sdban Records is very proud to release for the first time ever on vinyl Golden Hands’ only album released in 1978 on cassette by Moroccan label Disques Gam, including the cult classic ‘Take Me Back’.

Listen to Take Me Back below

Sdban will release s/t Golden Hands on May 10th, 2019

Published by ·

Tags: , , , ,

Listen: Marcel Dettmann Remix Of Luke Slater’s ‘Love’ Techno Classic

Marcel Dettmann, Silent Servant and Lucy have also taken on the UK techno classic.

Burial has remixed Luke Slater’s 1997 track “Love.”

The South Londoner’s version is one of eight on Love Remixes, with Marcel Dettmann (who contributes twice), Scuba, Silent Servant, Lucy and Slater himself (as The 7th Plain and Planetary Assault Systems) also featuring. It’s Burial’s first remix since his take on “Deep Summer” by Mønic in 2017.

One of Slater’s most popular tracks, “Love” featured on his second album, Freek Funk. The new EP, which is out via Slater’s Mote-Evolver label, will be available digitally and on vinyl from May 17th. The digital version includes two extra remixes by Marcel Dettmann and Scuba.

Listen to Dettmann’s “Black Gloves Remix.”

Mote-Evolver will release Love Remixes on May 17th, 2019.

Published by ·

Tags: , , , , , , ,